Return to Sender

Can’t you see I’m hurt? Tears sting my eyes and breath hiccups its way out of my chest. Even though I smile there’s pain behind the mask. This facade is nearly exposed, I’m holding it together despite the efforts of evil ripping me apart. Where is this savior I’ve been waiting for so long? Are they lost too? Maybe they can’t see past the fire in their own eyes. Every individual has their own problems, why should I expect you to be concerned with mine? To carry the load of stress I bring into your life. The bags of insecurity tucked into the seams. The hatred swelling in the secret pockets. The doubt, worry and paranoia behind the zippers. It’s much too cumbersome for you to handle on your own. Slowly as you unpack these flaws I’m sure noticing nothing here is worth keeping. 

Leave a Reply

