Untitled, Pt. 1

It’s been a while. Today is the last Monday of 2016. This year equates a long, eventful film that is finally showing the end credits. What did you learn from it? Did you accomplish the goals you set out to do in the beginning of the year? Every year many of us hear the cliché “new year’s resolutions” about getting in shape and cutting off a slew of people who are dead weight to us. While these resolutions aren’t impossible to make happen and stick to, our emotions often hinder us from making decisions that will be greater in the long run. Personally, I don’t set myself for failure because I know I don’t stick to any one thing for too long. I get bored easily and wander from hobby to hobby, routine to routine. Nothing is ever set in stone; it seems as if things are set in wet sand to be perfectly honest. That doesn’t stop me from doing what I enjoy just because I know the sensation it’ll bring me is temporary. I’ll continue the metaphor I used earlier with 2016 being a movie. Events we experience each year are just scenes, some raw and emotional while others are carefully scripted and practiced a thousand times. Since you are the one in charge of directing the film, only you determine the legacy of the movie. Will you give it 5 stars and aim to relive it every chance you get? Will you skim through and delete it afterwards because it was the worst thing you’ve ever encountered? Maybe you’ll study it and learn from it all. One thing that’s certain and predictable is that every year is one of a kind. You’ll never get the chance to do it over. Don’t fret because of the pain you endured during the more dramatic scenes. There was definitely a point in the movie where a flower bloomed and the sun shined. Use those small details to create a brighter 2017 and take every day (scene) one step at a time. Comment at let me know some of the most memorable scenes from your film! 

Leave a Reply

